Obama names 18 new faith-based council advisers

by Adelle M. Banks

September 29, 2015

c. 2015 Religion News Service

(RNS) President Obama last week (September 24) announced the names of 18 people who will serve on his third advisory council on faith-based issues.

They include leaders of religious groups and nonprofits—from a former president of a historic black denomination to the head of an anti-hunger group to an executive of a Sikh organization.

Additional names will be announced later. Here are the appointees so far:

Carroll A. Baltimore, bishop and former president, Progressive National Baptist Convention.

Preeta Bansal, president of Social Emergence Corporation.

David Beckmann, president of Bread for the World.

Kara Bobroff, executive director of Native American Community Academy.

Jennifer Butler, CEO of Faith in Public Life.

Steve Gutow, president of Jewish Council for Public Affairs.

Aziza Hasan, executive director of NewGround: Muslim Jewish Partnership for Change.

Lanae Erickson Hatalsky, vice presiden, social policy and politics program, Third Way.

David Jeffrey, national Commander, Salvation Army USA.

Jo Anne Lyon, general superintendent, the Wesleyan Church.

Michael McBride, urban strategies director, People Improving Communities through Organizing (known as PICO).

Nipun Mehta, founder, ServiceSpace

Kevin Ryan, CEO and president, Covenant House International.

Gabriel Salguero, president, National Latino Evangelical Coalition.

Stephen Schneck, director, Institute for Policy Research and Catholic Studies, the Catholic University of America.

Jasjit Singh, executive director, Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund.

Alexie Torres-Fleming, executive director, nonprofit Access Strategies Fund.

Deborah Weinstein, executive director, Coalition on Human Needs.