People

News in the July 13, 2010 issue

David Beckmann, president of Bread for the World, and Jo Luck, president of Heifer International, were announced as 2010 World Food Prize laureates for their "landmark achievements in building two of the world's foremost grassroots organizations leading the charge to end hunger and poverty for millions of people around the world." Secretary of State Hillary Clinton announced June 16 the winners of the prize created in 1986 by the late Nobel laureate Norman Borlaug to salute outstanding individuals mobilizing citizens to end hunger. Most honorees have been scientists, but Beckmann, a Lutheran minister, is the first clergyperson to be honored. Beckmann became president of Bread for the World in 1991 after a 15-year career with the World Bank. Under Luck's leadership as president and CEO of the Little Rock, Arkansas-based Heifer International, Heifer's budget grew from \$7 million to more than \$130 million. The award ceremony will take place October 14 in Des Moines, lowa.

Michael Jinkins, academic dean at Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary, will become the new president of Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary on September 1. Jinkins, who has been on the faculty of the Texas seminary since 1993 and dean since 2004, will succeed Dean K. Thompson, who has served six years as president of the seminary in Kentucky.