Introducing Moral Theology: True Happiness and the Virtues

What counts as the good life? What constitutes happiness? What do we really need in order to flourish as human beings? Many of us would associate these questions with the late-night conversations we love to have with friends or the subjects we explore together on long afternoon walks. But we might not expect to find them at the heart of the study of ethics.

Should an education in happiness be the principal goal in the study of ethics? In a rich and challenging book, William Mattison argues that it should. Following in the tradition of Aristotle, Augustine and Aquinas (and more recently the Dominican theologians Servais Pinc kaers and Herbert McCabe), he sets out to explore why a morally good life is a happy life.

 

This article is available to subscribers only. Please subscribe for full access—subscriptions begin at $4.95. Already have an online account? Log in now. Already a print subscriber? Create an online account for no additional cost.

This article is available to subscribers only.

To post a comment, log inregister, or use the Facebook comment box.